Mircea Tiberian - Mircea Tiberian (piano) Chris Dahlgren (Bass) John Betsch (Drums)


Mircea Tiberian (born May 4, 1955 in Cluj,Romania) is a jazz musician and professor of music at the National University of Music in Bucharest. He coordinates the Jazz Department, which he set up in 1991.


Musical career

Tiberian spent his childhood and adolescence in SibiuTransylvania where he made his debut at the International Jazz Festival in 1974. He holds a doctorate in music. He currently lives in Bucharest. He has performed the world over with such musicians as Larry CoryellTomasz StankoHerb RobertsonJohn BetschEd ShullerNicholas SimionAdam PieronczykMaurice de MartinTheo Jörgensmann and the Romanians Johnny RaducanuAura UrziceanuAnca Pargheland Dan Mandrila.


  • Composers Union Award (1990, 1996, 2000, 2003)
  • Romanian Musician of the Year Award (2003, 2007, 2008)
  • The Enescu-Brancusi Scholarship granted by the Romanian Cultural Institute


  • Tehnica Improvizatiei in Muzica de Jazz (A Course of Improvisation Techniques), Editura UNMB, Bucharest, 2005
  • Notes on Music and Music Notes (book and CDs), Editura Muzeului National al Literaturii Romane, Bucharest, 2005
  • Cartea de muzica (An anthology of musicology studies), Editura Tracus Arte, Bucharest, 2008

Intercultural Projects

Liniada (2000), Agnus Dei (2001), Les annes folles de Bucharest (2004), Jazz and Cinema (2005 –present), Dark (2006), Eurotique (2006), Jazzy Tarot - musical (2007–2008) – theatre Metropolis Bucuresti


  • Magic Bird (Electrecord, 1990)
  • Never Ending Story (Blue Label, 1992)
  • Working Underground (Prima Records, 1994)
  • Alone in Heaven (Intercont, 1998)
  • Hotel of Three Beginnings (Intercont, 1999)
  • Interzone (Editura Casa Radio, 2000)
  • Interzone plays with Adam Pieronczyk (Not Two, 2001)
  • Crossing Atlas 45 (Not Two, 2002)
  • Eleven (Jazz and More, 2002)
  • Back to my Angel (Editura Muzicala, 2002)
  • Viata Lumii (Jazz and More, 2003)
  • Lumini (La Strada, 2003)
  • Palindrome (Jazz and More, 2004)
  • Shinning of the Abyss (Jazz and More, 2004)
  • Notes on Music and Music Notes – double CD anthology (Editura Muzeului National al Literaturii Romane, 2005)
  • Dark (Editura Muzeului National al Literaturii Romane, 2006)
  • November (Openart Records, 2008)
  • Ulysses (Openart Records, 2008)


Stay in Touch with newest information

Sign up for our mailing list!

Connect with Us!

YouTube -- http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFtPhKJXuGtDUWiIq3msoHQ Twitter -- https://twitter.com/longtrumpet Facebook -- https://www.facebook.com/TribalDisorder